2012 Volkswagen Golf Complaints

ODINumber 10454965
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1333425600000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1334203200000-0400)/
VIN Wvwnm7aj9cw
Component Electrical system
Volkswagen of america fails to provide their customers a fuse diagram, making it impossible to safely identify and replace a simple blown fuse. *tr without a basic fuse diagram, the only choice for vw owners needing to replace a fuse is to pull fuses one-by-one as they search for the blown fuse. With many unused slots, should a fuse be inadvertently replaced in the incorrect slot, a critical safety system such as brake lights, tail lights, headlights, abs brake control, windshield wipers, horn, etc. Can be accidentally disabled without any immediate knowledge on the part of the owner. This happened in my case when i was trying to locate the 12-volt accessory fuse. all other automobile manufactures provide fuse assignment diagrams either in their owner's manuals or, more typically, on the back of the fuse compartment covers. This enables the owner to quickly identify the correct fuse, pull and inspect it, and replace it with a new fuse. i contacted volkswagen of america's corporate office and spoke with a special assistant to the president and ceo who was unwilling to give me any explanation whatsoever why vw refuses to provide this important safety information. Vw's advice is to "shine a flashlight on the end of the flat fuse and try to determine which one is blown." it is impossible to identify a blown fuse in this manner. since this represents a very real potential safety hazard to each and every vw owner who needs to replace a fuse, nhtsa should immediately issue a recall on all vw models, going back to the date vw instituted this ill-advised policy. Nhtsa should require the company to place fuse assignment diagrams on the interior of the fuse boxes. This will immediately and completely correct this safety defect.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10461255
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1335326400000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1339387200000-0400)/
VIN Wvwnm7aj7cw
Component Electrical system | structure:body
Water comes to the interior of the vehicle through the gap between the lower edge of the plastic interior door panel and the metal door. This leak now occurs on the right rear door of this 2012 vw golf. On other doors, water comes out through the purposely designed drain holes on the bottom side of the door, and thus water does not come into the interior. This incorrect water flow inside the right rear door may cause body damage and electrical hazard. When i spray low pressure water to the belt line at a self car wash bay to replicate rain, water comes out through the gap between the lower edge of the plastic interior door panel and the metal door at a rate faster than one drop per second. Pictures and video link are here: http://www.golf-6.com/werkstatt/12132-ist-dieses-wasser-leck-von-vw-design.html. The same kind of water leak occurred on the left front door of my 2011 vw golf. It was repaired under warranty in 2011. The cause was found to be defective seals inside the door: speaker seal, and window lifter seal. For my 2012 vw golf, however, vw of america and volkswagen ag are behaving weirdly. A vw dealer said to me after communicating with vw of america that vw designed golf to leak water that way from model year 2012, which is hard to believe. Vw of america admits that it does not have a vw document supporting the dealer's claim. However, vw of america declared that they still supports the dealer'€™s claim. I asked volkswagen ag whether vw really designed golf to leak water this way from model year 2012. Volkswagen ag refused to answer my question for a strange reason: they wrote that they do not respond to youtube. What they should have done is to respond to a customer's question. The youtube link was a supplementary tool for more efficient communication. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10470073
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1343188800000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1344571200000-0400)/
VIN Wvwdb7aj1cw
Component Power train
Leaving a parking lot, put the gear into reverse and was going forward. Put the gear in parking 3 x and back to reverse 3 x, but still going forward. Couldn't turn off the engine. Opened the door, and after maybe 10 minutes was able to turn off the engine, gave it a minute and then use the reverse gear and it worked. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10472079
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1345262400000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1345694400000-0400)/
VIN Wvwdm7ajxcw
Component Fuel system, diesel
Fuel pump failure, random power cut out due to fault mode. System flashes a glow plug light instead of a check engine light not signaling a obvious failure. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10470560
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1344744000000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1344916800000-0400)/
VIN Wvwdm7aj8cw
Component Engine | fuel system, diesel
At 6,519 miles, while about to enter the on-ramp of a local highway, the check engine light and glow plug indicator light began to flash. I was able to veer off the entrance ramp and continue down the down to the nearest safe parking lot area; as i pulled into the parking lot area, the vehicle shuddered and suddenly shut off. It would not re-start, and we had to arrange for a tow to a family members house through our insurance company. In the morning we had a tow to our dealer set up through volkswagen roadside service, who would not cover the entire cost of the tow to our preferred dealer, so we paid the difference out of our own pocket. I was notified by the dealer that the fuel pump (commonly referred to as hpfp) basically imploded and sent metal throughout the entire fuel system, which now needs to be replaced. We own two volkswagen diesel (tdi) vehicles; this one, a 2012 golf tdi, and a 2010 jetta tdi. They are both filled up at the exact same pump from the exact same station about 99% of the time. At the time this incident occurred, the golf had 281 miles on the current tank of diesel which was filled up on 08/03/2012. I filled up my jetta tdi at the same pump on 08/06/2012, currently have over 230 miles on that tank of diesel, and have not experienced any problems. We keep meticulous documentation of our diesel usage, cost, etc. With receipts and other logs, and can safely state that this was not due to a mistake on our part. Rather, this is a design failure and/or oversight on the part of both volkswagen and bosch, the hpfp manufacturer. I am a veteran member of the tdiclub vw diesel online community, and there is extensive information and documentation there of these repeated failures. Please visit the following threads for information; http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread.php?t=286380, http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread.php?t=299854. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10480604
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1347336000000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1350273600000-0400)/
VIN Wvwpf7aj7cw
Component Engine
At 2766 miles i was cruising down the highway at 70 mph on my way to work when the engine suddenly lost power and the epc light came on. The engine was completely unresponsive, i pulled off to the shoulder, called roadside assistance and was towed to the nearest dealer the service manager told me the water pump seized and seriously damaged the engine. I went to look and there was a big hole in the side of the engine. He told me they had to order new piston heads, rods, etc... Basically, needed to rebuild the engine. Speaking to the mechanic actually working on the car, he said it would probably need an engine replacement. They quickly realized repair wasn't possible and had a new engine en route. after a little searching online, i found that this has happened to at least 5 others (there are more now). It seems to be an issue with the water pump pulley. I am most concerned because vw denied they had ever heard of this. I have no confidence that the replacement engine will not suffer the same issue. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10489003
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1352523600000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1355720400000-0500)/
VIN Wvwnm7aj6cw
Component Engine | fuel system, diesel | fuel/propulsion system
The car is a 2012 vw golf tdi, purchased around april of 2012. It had approximately 7500 miles at the time of the incident. I was on a short drive to the store and back (5 miles round trip from home). On the way back, i heard a metal grinding sound coming from the engine compartment and noticed a lack of power. I turned off the radio to confirm that the sound was coming from my new car and it was. at the next stop light, the car died and could not be restarted. I confirmed that i still had diesel fuel, and sure enough, i still had 1/4 tank. So i was not out of fuel. The engine would crank, but not start. Thankfully this happened at a stop light instead of on the hilly interstate i take to work 20 miles each day. Aside from hearing the metal grinding sound for approximately 30 seconds, i had no warning. The car had to be towed back to the dealer. the dealer took a few days to diagnose the problem as a faulty fuel pump. Apparently, the fuel pump malfunctioned and shot metal shards through my entire fuel system. It took the dealer well over a week to replace every component and the cost of labor and parts was over $10,000. Thankfully, vw covered the repair as being under warranty. A quick google search confirmed that hundreds of other vw diesel engines have had the same problem. Unfortunately, the dealer did not replace the fuel tank. Based on reports i have seen online, i can expect another failure any day. Please investigate this further and force vw to issue a recall. I have owned 5 volkswagens in the past (own 2 right now) and love them, but i will never buy another one after this incident. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10486272
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1353906000000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1353992400000-0500)/
VIN Wvwnm7aj8cw
Component Fuel system, diesel | fuel/propulsion system | power train
I was driving down the road had just shifted into 4th gear came up to a red light. I pressing in the clutch and started to slow down still in 4th gear. The red light turned green before i could slow down much at all. I released the clutch when i did this the engine and rpm increased. I was still in 4th gear and hardly accelerating but it felt as though i was in second gear. I kinda freaked and looked to make sure i was in 4th and i was.the car began to run normal so i just brushed it off. I came to another red light and made a complete stop. This is when the car began to shake and flash the orange coil looking light. It completely shut off and i was unable to restart the car. My brother came and helped me push it to the side of the road. It had to be towed to the dealership. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10491554
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1356325200000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1357448400000-0500)/
VIN Wvwpf7aj3cw
Component Engine | power train
On 12/24/2012, returning from a restaurant with my family, i heard a bang and my engine died while driving on a city street at 35 mph. I was able to safely put the car in neutral and roll off the street. I found out on 12/26 that my water pump had fallen apart, destroying my timing belt and engine head. several vehicles with the build date of my car have experienced water pump failures that destroy the timing belt and cause catastrophic engine failures. Luckily, i was traveling at a slow speed when the incident occurred. Vw claims to not know about "a widespread problem." i was also told that no superseded part is being installed; the same water pump part is being put back. The dealer replaced the head, pump, belt, misc bolts, etc. i am worried about my safety that this incident will re-occur. http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthread.php?5854747-consolidated-water-pump-failure-thread http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthread.php?5813173-golf-r-water-pump-madness!!!! *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10507390
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1365307200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1365307200000-0400)/
VIN Wvwbb7aj8cw
Component Power train
Vehicle was parked and the engine was turned off. started motor and place automatic transmission in reverse. A loud clunk noise was heard but backing up was ok. then placed vehicle in drive and the same noise was heard again. the vehicle transmission appears to operate only in the top [high] gear mode. it does not auto shift through the full gear range. drives forward in top gear only. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10510419
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash Yes
Fire No
NumberOfInjured 1
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1365393600000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1367467200000-0400)/
VIN Wvwdm7aj8cw
Component Air bags | structure:body
I was traveling on a highway in dallas. There was a 2003 toyota tacoma two lanes to the left of me. He apparently wanted to take an exit that was rapidly coming up. He had a dresser in the bed so he asked his wife if it was clear to cut across all 5 lanes to take the exit. I was two lanes over and rear ended him. He brake when he saw me and i had little time to react, so i hit him front distributed to rear distributed. My air bags did not deploy. I've been a police officer for 17 years and a firefighter even longer and know how air bags work. Since i essentially rear ended him, i know i tripped more than one airbag sensor at a time. My air bags did not deploy. I ended up with a cardiac bruise and upper joint injuries. I called vw customer care and sent them pictures of the car. They think i went under his truck and that's why the bags did not deploy. His truck was stock with no lift kit or anything, so i would hope my bags would deploy, but they didn't. I know we now track if a vehicle's height had been altererd on accident reports in texas. I have a few pictures of the car.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10511389
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1368072000000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1368158400000-0400)/
VIN Wvwnm7aj7cw
Component Fuel system, diesel
Fuel pump failure at 7200 miles (despite using diesel fuel) resulting in shards of metal in the fuel system and inability to drive car, had to be towed to dealer looking at the web, this is not the first time this has happened in a newer tdi engine. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10514288
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash Yes
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1367208000000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1369886400000-0400)/
VIN Wvwdb7aj1cw
Component Vehicle speed control | vehicle speed control:accelerator pedal
Tl* the contact owns a 2012 volkswagen golf. The contact stated that while driving approximately 2 mph, the vehicle erroneously accelerated then crashed into a parked vehicle. There were no injuries. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure and stated that they would send someone to inspect the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 6,000. Updated 08/15/13*lj the consumer stated the accelerator stuck when he backed down the driveway on incline. The vehicle accelerated by itself after going down an incline and around the corner.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10515491
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1370145600000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1370491200000-0400)/
VIN Wvwpf7aj3cw
Component Engine | power train
While operating the vehicle under normal conditions, i heard a rattle from the engine, followed by the sound of something rattling in the engine compartment and then falling out. The engine died immediately and i was able to coast to the shoulder. After the dealer inspected the car they found that the water pump was faulty and it caused the water pump pulley to come off and cause damage to the cylinder head, valves, cover, water pump, and timing belt, in addition to the water pump pulley falling off. The dealer then told me this was a known issue for this make and model and that they had made the same repair to several other models in their service department. They advised there was an updated water pump part that had components made of metal rather than plastic to withstand the engine heat, which was what caused my water pump to fail. additionally, my vehicle was in for a regularly scheduled maintenance appointment days earlier and the dealer neglected to check the water pump or advise me that it might be faulty, even though they knew and admitted later to it being a known problem with the car. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10514757
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured 1
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1370145600000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1370232000000-0400)/
Component Structure:body
The hatchback edges on the side of the vehicles have a knife point that is just under six feet off the ground. Unloading the car in the garage i misjudged the clearance and suffered a painful puncture wound on top of my head. I fell to the ground and the wound bled profusely. these edges needed to be rounded off or otherwise blunted. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10524360
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1363579200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1373515200000-0400)/
VIN Wvwdm7aj7cw
Component Engine | fuel system, diesel | vehicle speed control
Car purchased november 2011. august 29, 2012 (much <10,000 miles) reported rough shifting of automatic transmission to volkswagen of alexandria. Told that experience was normal. Trusted mechanic and used vehicle. march 18, 2013--complete transmission failure while driving in a parking lot. Engine shut off while moving and abruptly brought car to a stop. This is the same problem that prompted recalls for this car in australia, china, and japan. Brought into volkswagen of alexandria and told problem was related to computer errors controlling transmission. july 10, 2013--(@15,000 miles) car loses reasonable amount of power, makes grinding noise, engine light appears. Blocks from volkswagen of alexandria. Just able to make it in. Technicians report that a number of faults were reported and have contacted vw of america to advise what to do next. Ultimately they decide that the mechatronics unit (part of transmission) should be replaced but will not be available soon. alexandria volkswagen advises me to take the vehicle back into my posession and drive it as is until the part arrives. They claimed it to be just a noise issue. I object and have to point out the complaint about severe lack of power and previous complete engine/transmission failure (which they claimed to be unrelated). After complaint told i could rent a car. Finally able to complain my way into a loaner. I have read about this tactic for ways around lemon law liability. Was advised to report it here. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10537810
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1376625600000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1377662400000-0400)/
VIN Wvwbm7aj1cw
Component Fuel system, other:delivery:fuel pump
Glow plug and check engine indicator appeared while driving approximately 45 mph in vicinity of the m-10 freeway in detroit, mi. Vehicle power unexpectedly cut out, forcing me to maneuver off of the road at a speed lower than surrounding traffic. I picked up the vehicle on 19 aug from the dealer and experienced an identical problem in vicinity of 9 mile road and middlebelt in farmington hills, mi. Vw later informed me that the problem was associated with a failure of the high pressure fuel pump. *tt
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10537374
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash Yes
Fire No
NumberOfInjured 1
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1377489600000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1377489600000-0400)/
VIN Wvwbb7ajxcw
Component Air bags
This car was involved in a vehicle crash. Impact was to the driver's side primarily to the door and front end. Despite the severity of the impact, no air bags deployed from the driver's side or the steering wheel. I sustained an injury to the shoulder and am concerned about the safety of the vehicle. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10544197
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1377835200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1379514135000-0400)/
VIN Wvwdm7aj3cw
Component Fuel/propulsion system
Vehicle stalled on street at stop sign. Was unable to restart the car after multiple attempts. Vehicle was repaired; high pressure fuel pump failed. Metal shards contaminated fuel rail, fuel tank, and other systems.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10562469
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1388984400000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1391230800000-0500)/
VIN Wvwnm7aj4cw
Component Engine
First incident was 1/06/14. My wife was a week over her delivery date tried to start the car and it tried to turn over but wouldn't start. Eventually called dealer who had her tow it in to them. The dealer informed her of moisture in intercooler pipe which they blew out with an air hose and charged her $48 (they said it is normally about $150). They informed her it was due to driving short distances & the cold weather; that diesels needed to be driven long distance only. The 2nd incident was 1/30/14. My wife & newborn were running errands in town when the car engine malfunction light came on & she pulled over to check on it. The car then would not start & again had to be towed to dealer. This time they pulled a big chunk of ice from inter-cooler pipe and said the inter-cooler had to be replaced & cold weather kit installed (est. $1100). A quick search on-line shows this is not a new problem & vw has been aware of it on north american diesels for several years yet they have failed to inform new buyers or fix the problem. Also many owners who have gotten vw's "fix" (cold weather kit) say it has not solved the problem. If we had know their diesels could not be driven in the winter or for short distances we definitely would not have bought one. Leaving any one stranded in the winter is bad but leaving my very pregnant wife & my newborn baby is something i can't put up with. Because vw doesn't admit to having a design flaw i am going to have to foot the bill for something i have now control over but vw does. On top of that i may have the same problem within a week due to an unforeseen event called "winter" if their fix doesn't work. If knowing you have a design flaw in your vehicles that leaves owners stranded at the worst possible time (winter) does not constitute a safety issue & deserve immediate attention&accountability if not a recall then i'm not sure what does. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10567577
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1329282000000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1394082000000-0500)/
VIN Wvwdm7aj6cw
Component Power train
Tl- the contact owns a 2012 volkswagen golf tdi. The contact stated that on extremely cold conditions the vehicle failed to start. After multiple attempts the vehicle was successfully restarted. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for a diagnostic test. The dealer stated that water builds up in the air inter cooler causing the engine to hydro lock, the contact could have to pay for a cold weather inter cooler to properly repair the vehicle. The manufacture was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 11,000 miles. Az *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10596795
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1401768000000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1402113600000-0400)/
Component Fuel/propulsion system
Driving in stop and go traffic on highway when glow plug icon on dash started to blink, lost significant engine power. Pulled over and restarted with nothing on dash. Quickly, glow plug icon started blinking again, along with a solid motor icon on dash. Drove to dealership with 40mph max power, and after turning car off, technician could not turn car back on. High pressure fuel pump failed and sent metal shards into fuel system, destroying the entire fuel system. Tech says he's seen 6 tdi with same issue recently. Vw is covering 100% of cost. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10627186
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1408075200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1408593600000-0400)/
VIN Wvwnm7aj2cw
Component Engine | fuel system, diesel | vehicle speed control
2012 vw golf tdi (diesel) vehicle began losing power on acceleration from a stoplight and began clicking. Check engine and glow plug lights flashed. Power was reduced to 15% and limped to shoulder. Shut off engine and attempted restart. Engine turned over but no ignition. Towed to dealer who confirmed that high pressure fuel pump had failed. Dealer replaced high pressure fuel pump, tank pump, high pressure fuel lines, fuel rail with both sensors, all injectors, fuel return lines, fuel filter, and aux fuel pump. Tank and fuel lines were flushed and cleaned. All repairs done under vw 60k powertrain warranty. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10654071
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1415336400000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1415595600000-0500)/
VIN Wvwdm7aj7cw
Component Electrical system | exterior lighting
When starting my golf tdi i received several warning messages on the car's information screen to check turning lights, brake lights, headlights and running lights on the right hand side of the car. The right hand headlights, turn signals and brakelights were out. the cause of the fault was a melted fusebox. The internal wiring of the fusebox overheated and melted the plastic of the box and the plastic of the fuse without breaking the circuit. According to my repair shop, this is a design flaw afflicting as many as one million vws of various years. I saw that vw has initiated recalls for this problem with other models, but not the golf or golf tdis. This fault can cause the vehicle to lose partial or total headlights and turn signals, creating a significant safety hazard for drivers and other vehicles. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10723789
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1433131200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1433641953000-0400)/
VIN Wvwmm7aj7cw
Component Unknown or other
Key gets stuck in the ignition and will not turn off.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10723863
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1433044800000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1433716307000-0400)/
VIN Wvwdm7aj3cw
Component Fuel/propulsion system
I was driving on i-55 at approx. 60mph and the glow plug indicator light began flashing and the vehicle went into limp mode. Pulled off at the next exit and shut the vehicle down, and waited a few minutes. After turning the vehicle back on, the 'check engine' light was illuminated, however i was able to drive home (aprox. 3 miles). Had vehicle towed to dealership the following morning, where the dealer indicated the high pressure fuel pump for the direct-rail fuel injection system had failed and contaminated the entire fuel system. This will require a replacement of the high pressure fuel pump, and the entire fuel system, which is being covered by the manufacturer under the drivetrain warranty.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10764539
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1441080000000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1442462400000-0400)/
VIN Wvwdm7aj1cw
Component Engine
While coming to a stop at a red light, heard a slight ringing sound as the engine slowed down and stalled right as we stopped. The engine would not restart and the "coils" warning light was illuminated in the dash board. Several attempts were made to restart the vehicle as we waited for a tow truck. the problem was with a failure of the high pressure fuel pump (hpfp). the vehicle was towed to the dealership. We were without a vehicle for over a week as the fuel was being tested for contamination (which there was none) and waiting approval from volkswagen for approval under warranty coverage. this is the second problem with the fuel system on this car. There was a previous problem with a leaking fuel rail (leaving a puddle of diesel fuel in a parking lot) which was covered with a warranty repair while on a vacation.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10794651
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1447477200000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1447822800000-0500)/
VIN Wvwnm7aj4cw
Component Electrical system | exterior lighting
My issue seams similar to a filing last year "10654071". I started the car to leave from work, and i receive nine separate exterior light faults. It affected both the front right, left rear, right rear, side marker lights, and plate light. All stopped working at the same time. There was no warning. And no fuses were blown. I was driving at night when this happened, i was lucky that one headlight continued to work. this made for a very difficul.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10822361
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1453784400000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1453784400000-0500)/
VIN Wvwmm7aj7cw
Component Fuel/propulsion system
I was on my way home from long trip and have check engine light com on and disappeared by self. I made appointment for regular 60k maintenance and addressed light issue and dirty tail pipe to the san tan vw dealer and they response was that "car is diesel and for diesel is normal to smoke and light will not come after software update. Now after warranty expired i have diagnosis that whole exhaust system needs to be replace (exhaust system is under recall investigation). Estimate to fix exhaust is $6000. Vw of america refuse to fix the issue, car is now polluting, smoking and car is not safe to drive.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10845836
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1335240000000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1457565239000-0500)/
VIN Wvwmm7aj8cw
Component Engine
Smog control fraud with diesel engine
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10854895
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1460347200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1460408685000-0400)/
VIN Wvwdb7aj5cw
Component Power train
Cv joints failed at under 38k miles on automobile.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10871349
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1464408000000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1464464388000-0400)/
VIN Wvwdm7aj1cw
Component Power train
Like many owners of volkswagen tdi vehicles, the 1-2 second hesitation when accelerating from a complete stop is very unnerving. It can be dangerous when merging into traffic or crossing an intersection. It happens daily and the dealership was unable to fix it while the vehicle was under warranty. Vw updated the software on the transmission but that "fix" didn't last more than a few months.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10871728
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1464148800000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1464768747000-0400)/
VIN Wvwdm7aj4cw
Component Fuel/propulsion system
Glow plug light came on and engine lost power. Engine would not restart. Tow to dealer and they replaced the high pressure fuel pump and other parts. Cost of warranty repair was about $7000.00.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10882668
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1459483200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1467691200000-0400)/
Component Air bags
Tl* the contact owns a 2012 volkswagen golf. The contact stated that nhtsa campaign number: 16v078000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The contact received the recall notification in april of 2016. The manufacturer stated that the parts were not available. The vin was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11011753
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1501473600000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1501527954000-0400)/
VIN Wvwdm7aj1cw
Component Air bags | electrical system | steering
My local volkswagen dealership stated there is a recall on certain vw models for the clock-spring located inside the steering column. My vehicle has been making a terrible noise when i turn the wheel in either direction, which vw attributes to the clock-spring. They told me the 2012 golf tdi model is not covered under the recall but apparently this clock-spring problem impacts other models. They warned the problem will get worse and eventually impact the steering, airbag, turn signals, horn, and other electrical components inside the steering wheel. They quoted the cost to replace the clock-spring is $890. So my question is can the recall be broadened to include 2012 golf tdis as well?
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11012343
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1501646400000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1501698456000-0400)/
Component Structure:body
When the temperature reaches above 80 degrees fahrenheit the drivers door and the passengers door will not latch closed properly. If you try to close the doors, they just bang against the frame and swing open. Once the temperature of the door cools down, the door will eventually latch. Sometimes i have to wait till morning to properly close them shut. The dealership is asking $600 to repair this. This is a safety issue and these doors should lock properly before driving away.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11143467
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1540267200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1540699200000-0400)/
VIN Wvwdm7aj5cw
Component Power train
Dual mass flywheel failed at 81,200 miles rendering the vehicle inoperable. Failure was 21,200 miles after power train warranty expired. Vehicle was in motion and began to shift very strangely, was able to make it home and park it.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11113169
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1531972800000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1532318400000-0400)/
VIN Wvwdm7ajxcw
Component Engine | fuel/propulsion system
Tl* the contact owns a 2012 volkswagen golf. While driving 5 mph, all of the warning indicators illuminated and the vehicle stalled. Moss brothers volkswagen of moreno valley (27750 eucalyptus ave, moreno, valley, california 92555, (951) 485-4188) was made aware of the failure and stated that the fuel system was contaminated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and provided the contact with case number: 180-76-1675. The failure mileage was 123,986.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11155220
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1543554000000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1543554000000-0500)/
VIN Vwwfd7aj0cw
Component Air bags
Air bag clockspring
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11231324
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1562299200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1562904000000-0400)/
VIN 3vw4a7aj1cm
Component Air bags
Tl* the contact owns a 2012 volkswagen golf. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag warning indicator illuminated. The contact was concerned for the safety of the passenger in the event of a crash. The vehicle was taken to dublin volkswagen (located at 6085 scarlett ct, dublin, ca 94568, (925) 829-0800) where it was diagnosed that the air bag control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was currently being repaired. The manufacturer was informed of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 7,522.*bf *jb
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11266012
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1570075200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1570075200000-0400)/
VIN Wvwnm7aj7cw
Component Exterior lighting
Intermittently, dashboard mfd would indicate that all exterior lights failed. Shut off engine and pulled out key. Inserted key and restarted and all would be fine. Got to the point that lights were in fact not working. Pulled out fuses and when i pulled the 30a fuse (f16?) i noticed the fuse and fuse box was melted. I cleaned the contacts on the fuse with sandpaper and a wire brush. I attempted to use the brush on the fuse box but to no avail. I inserted the fuse back in and the lights worked. Next morning, i turned the key on and mfd indicated all the lights were not working. I opened the hood and fuse box and wiggled the fuse. Worked all the way to and from work. Found two vw forums discussed this same issue. Most were tiguans. Pictures are the fuse box and the front and rear lights before i cleaned the fuse. The car was stationary when i was working on it.*dt *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10983886
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1491105600000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1494164607000-0400)/
VIN Wvwdm7aj1cw
Component Steering
Reading some online forums, many people are experiencing a creaking sound coming from components related to the steering system. It occurs when turning the steering wheel in either direction. The exact diagnosis is not posted on any of the forums but it does make vw owners nervous. It happens when the vehicle is stationary or in motion, regardless of the speed.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11000351
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1435636800000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1498051839000-0400)/
VIN Wvwdm7aj8cw
Component Air bags
Takata recall - received notice over 18 months ago that the passenger airbag needs to be replaced but have not received information that a new airbag is available. What is taking so long? This issue needs to be addressed for the passengers in my car.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10899593
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1472529600000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1472529600000-0400)/
VIN Wvwnm7aj0cw
Component Air bags
Takata recall i spoke with vw customer care and they said there is no fix currently available due to a lack of parts. Furthermore, they said they are not providing an alternative to driving my defective car and they will not disable the faulty air bag. So i'm left driving a car that may kill me. I find this unacceptable.
ProductType Vehicle

  Vehicle History Report

  • Sales History
  • Service History
  • Vehicle Theft Check
  • Odometer Reading
  • Market Value

  Free VIN check

  • VIN decoder
  • Vehicle Specifications
  • Equipment Details
  • Fuel Efficiency
  • Ownership History

  Car Recalls and Defects

  • Recalls and Defects
  • Problems & Complaints
  • Safety Ratings
  • Warranty