2013 Volkswagen Tiguan Complaints

ODINumber 11408458
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1618372800000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1618608015000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav3ax2dw
Component Service brakes
Normally vw is extremely intelligently designed but their design of the electronic brake module leaves much to be desired. The module consists of a recessed elongated toggle switch that allows one to set the parking brake at the flick of a finger as opposed to the old handbrake/footbrake pedal (effective model year 2013). unfortunately, it is super easy to active the emergency brake/parking brake by causing your coffee cup to pull up one the toggle switch (if memory serves me right, there have been 8 accidental activations while on the freeway.) my problem de jour was the opposite. I was in my driveway and late for work and the parking brake wouldn't disengage. I tried everything from disconnecting the battery to wiggling it back & forth and nothing worked. My dealer's quote was approximately $1,500.00 which caused me to faint. I ran my blue driver osbd ii scanner and it showed no problems? I then stared hopelessly at the switch and noticed it wasn't flush with the console, meaning it was a top loader (thank god). I immediately removed it but couldn't undo the wire harness without turning it upside down & shaking it. Well, when i did that...an american d-i-m-e fell out and unblocked the mechanism. If you store loose change on top of the two cubby holes above the console---you will risk jamming the car in park even though nothing else is wrong. my solutions: (a) make it idiot proof by scotch taping a business card over the e-brake (one piece only so as to make it a reuseable paper flap (b) be as stupid & careless as you always are/were and if your parking brake fails to retract, take yer fingernails and pop open the switch, remove the wire harness (pull the red tongue out first), turn it upside down and then bang it violently until your dime or tortilla chip or paper clip or cherry pit works its self out....or see solution (a). Fyi, car was stationary.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11408376
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1616212800000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1618590061000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv3ax2dw
Component Air bags | electrical system
Steering wheel made clicking noise, suddenly the airbag light came on and no steering wheel controls would work while driving down the highway. Looked up that it could be the recall on the clock spring stating debris could get into the area and cause a failure. Spoke with vw of america, states the vehicle is only covered up to 120,000 (my mileage at time of call to vw was 135k). Given this is a known issue for these vehicles and the investigation even needed to be re-opened in 2018, you think the company would care about the safety of their customers as i am now driving a vehicle with an airbag that won't deploy upon impact (possibly fatal).
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11414069
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1619236800000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1619498023000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv7ax3dw
Component Electrical system
The panoramic sun roof causing water in vehicle.moldy smell, windshield moisture. gasket do not appear to be cracked or damaged. 2013 wv tiguan. Started after 5 years of ownership. Car was parked. no visible water marks on head liner. Recently had heavy rain. I believe safety risk. Wires under seat, mold, visibility.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10638400
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1407902400000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1411444800000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav7ax5dw
Component Vehicle speed control
When operating at 65mph on cruise control i noticed a truck ahead of me slowing at a hill, so i pressed the "down" button to reduce the speed to 64, then again to 63 mph. When i clicked again for 62 mph the vehicle suddenly sped up because the cruise control had jumped back to 65 mph. By that point i was quite close to the truck and had to slam on the brakes to avoid a collision. This happened to me twice before i figured out what was going on. My dealer has verified this issue in my vehicle and has determined that all new 2014 tiguans on their lot have this defect, as well as at least one 2014 passat. A member of the tiguan owners group on facebook has reported that his 2010 tiguan has this issue. Volkswagen of america customer service has officially tried to blow me off and make me go away. This issue does not occur every time, usually randomly occurring between 30-40% of the time. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10491854
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1357362000000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1357621200000-0500)/
VIN Wvgbv7ax3dw
Component Electrical system | electronic stability control | power train
There are 2 separate incidents. first incident approx. Nov. 26. Proceeding up a steep hill when the car suddenly decelerated. Pressing on gas pedal did not result in increased speed. Needed to shift to manual transmission mode to regain control of the car. second incident on dec. 27. Proceeding down a steep hill at approx. 45 mph. Posted speed limit is 45mph. Pavement is dry, visibility is miles. Sky is overcast. While driving down the hill the vehicle suddenly went into deceleration from 45 to ~ 30mph. Pressing on the gas pedal did not result in speed increase. Needed to shift car into manual transmission mode to gain control of the car back. third incident on jan. 5. Proceeding on city street at less than posted speed limit. Suddenly car has no power. All electrical is off. Must move car to side of road. After getting the car out of traffic and stopped, was able to restart. all above incidents are reported to vw and car is in for service. Vw reports no issues with the car. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10503614
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1359694800000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1363665600000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav7ax8dw
Component Service brakes
Brake became stiff after pushing down on the brake pedal approx 1/3 of the way and the car did not come to a full stop. At this point only pressing down with full strength forces the pedal down further and stops the car. The usual operation is a smooth brake pedal which can be pushed all the way to the floor. this has happened several times at seemingly random intervals, sometimes one or two times a day, with other times going a few days without incident. The dealership mechanics cannot find a fault with their usual method of testing. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10505891
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1365566400000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1365652800000-0400)/
VIN Unknown
Component Electrical system | structure:body
We rented the vehicle from hertz at denver international airport. When we parked the car to go to a restaurant, we could not unlock the doors and thus could not get out of the car. We phoned hertz and were told we could exchange the car for a different car at the airport. On the way to the airport, we kept seeing sporadic warning signals on the dashboard that various doors were open. They were not open. The attendants at hertz had trouble unlocking the doors as well. Fortunately, we contacted our daughter by cell phone who did some research on the car on the internet and found that there is a hidden keyhole on the exterior of the driver's side door that was covered by a snap-on piece of molding. Our daughter was able to communicate how to access the keyhole to the hertz attendants who then succeeded in opening the doors. The windows were operative, but were too small for older folks like ourselves to use as an egress, certainly not without help. this is potentially a very dangerous situtation since it could be impossible to extract passnegers from a vehicle that suffers an accident. Also, passengers could arrive at a desitination late at night and with insufficient fuel, and find themselves unable to get out of the car or drive somewhere else for help. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10541890
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1377316800000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1378267200000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav7ax3bw
Component Service brakes | vehicle speed control
Tl* the contact owns a 2013 volkswagen tiguan. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the accelerator failed to engage. Also, the emergency brake failed to release when in park. The dealer was contacted. The manufacturer was not aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 28,300 and the current mileage was 29,000.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10538012
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash Yes
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1377662400000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1377748800000-0400)/
Component Parking brake
I am a state trooper who investigated a crash. The vehicle in question was involved in the crash. The vehicle that caused the crash was a 2013 vw tiguan. This vehicle has an electrically actuated parking brake. The switch, very similar to a power window switch, is located between the front seats adjacent to the cup holder. The driver, reaching for the cup accidentally hit the parking brake switch activating it. The car came to an immediate stop in a traffic lane of an interstate and the vehicle following struck it in the rear causing extensive damage to both vehicles. I manipulated the switch trying to release the brake so the tow operator could pull it unto the flat bed of the truck. It was unclear how to release the brake (i was unable to do so),or how it was initially activated. The switch can be pulled up, or pushed down, presumably to engage or disengage the brake. It should be noted unlike a pedal or lever style parking brake, there is no way to modulate the amount of braking effort. From what i observed, it appears the driver gets full braking force or none at all. The location of the switch makes it easy to strike accidentally either by reaching for the cup holder or even while trying to reposition yourself in the seat. *tt
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10549968
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1382932800000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1383019200000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv3ax1dw
Component Engine | power train
My first issue with a check engine light came on 1 month into my 3+ year lease with under 1,000 miles on the car. I was told it was fine to drive, as they couldn't fit me in for service with a loaner for 2 wks!! The light eventually went off in 2 days without an issue. However, it happened again at 5k miles. The check engine light came on and i proceeded to drive around the corner from my home. I stopped at a stop sign, accelerated slightly and the car died. The car had a check engine (yellow light on) and a red light. I had little to no control over the steering either. I pulled over, restarted the car and turned around. I proceeded at a rate of 5 to 10 miles per hour with my hazards lights on for the mile ride back to my house. I stopped at a 4 way stop sign and accelerated slightly and the car died again. I was almost hit by oncoming traffic. I was able to drive less than a mile to my home. The car had to be flat bedded as it would not shift into neutral. The car is at vw and i am awaiting more info...with no loaner. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10566926
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1393131600000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1393909200000-0500)/
VIN Wvgav3ax6dw
Component Engine
Tl* the contact owns a 2013 volkswagen tiguan. The contact stated that while driving 15 mph and making a right turn, the vehicle lost power. The contact restarted that vehicle and the vehicle functioned properly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that they could not diagnose the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 4,600. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10568738
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1393909200000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1394596800000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv7ax3dw
Component Engine | fuel system, gasoline | vehicle speed control
After turning motor on, and backing up, the car is unresponsive when shifted into drive,. On 4 occasions now i have had to restart the car and try again. The accelerator seems progressively unresponsive. Yesterday, the car stayed in gear, and on long enough for me to pull into traffic and then died. I had to restart while vehicles drove around me. Thankfully it was a residential street. I'm very worried now to drive the car as it could happen in a busier environment and result in an accident. Checking online, this seems to have occurred to other volkswagen tiguan owners over the past 3 years, but dealership service departments were unable to determine the problem or changed out the fuel pump. After gm recall i am very concerned. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10567996
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1351137600000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1394341200000-0500)/
VIN Wvgbv7ax0dw
Component Engine | fuel system, gasoline
Vehicle cut out, and engine died. Sometimes the epc light is illuminated, other times it is simply a loss of power and then engine cut off. Has happened multiple times. Often during acceleration into traffic. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10573710
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1392526800000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1395288000000-0400)/
Component Fuel/propulsion system | steering
I purchased a 2012 vw tiguan and started having problems with this vehicle at about 15,000 miles when the fuel pump and modulator went bad.. After that i went through 2 or 3 more fuel pumps on the vehicle, the steering column failed. Unsatisfied with the cars performance i voiced my opinion to the dealership; asking to get out of the vehicle. They contacted vw who agreed to place me in a 2013 model and gave about $4500 towards my costs of the updated model; which i still lost considerable money on because of a very low trade in value; but i wanted a safe vehicle for me and my family. Now i had the 2013 for over a year and 21,000 miles roles on and my fuel pump went out on this car. It happened while i was making a right turn into traffic and the car died almost causing my family and i to have a serious accident. The dealer replaced the fuel pump and module once again. I contacted vw and explained my wife and i are scared this problem will continue to happen and have found multiple sources including the dealer stating this problem continues to occur and i fear for my safety while driving. I also have been very patient with them regarding the multiple inconveniences this has been for me with multiple vehicles. They refused to help me and just continue with the original warranty. I asked for consideration to please be taken out of this vehicle and they out right refused to hear me. Now i have a car that i owe money on, cannot afford to trade in, with a known mechanical problem. My wife is scared to drive in the car and will not allow me to travel with my kids. Vw was only concerned about the bottom line and not the customer experience. The rep would not interject his own feelings however he did say given my vw experience he does not blame me for wanting out of the car; but vw would not help. All i asked for was a vehicle that will provide safety for me and my family. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10574567
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1393822800000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1395720000000-0400)/
VIN Lsvxk25n6d2
Component Engine
2013 volkswagen tiguan. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle engine problems. *smd the consumer stated the fixed point of the engine's dust cover had a fracture. Reason: the thickness of the fixed point was too thin. Oil was burning in the combustion chamber, which was a continuous process when the vehicle was being driven, due to the oil separator which had a serious design flaw. Oil leaked out from the end cover for the camshaft, because the fixed bolts were not enough and not sealed. The idle speed was not stable and the electronic control system had a fault.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10621184
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1380513600000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1407643200000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav3ax0dw
Component Engine | fuel/propulsion system
Car stalled in the middle of bumper to bumper traffic with me and a two year old strapped in her seat. Most horrifying experience in my whole 48 years of life. Your dealer did nothing and said it's all in my head. Car was at the dealership multiple times ever since for stalling while me driving! Will start class action suit through an orlando law firm of debaubien, knight, manzaris, simmons and neal unless car is replaced. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10629589
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1396411200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1409422983000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav3ax4dw
Component Fuel/propulsion system
I wonder why i have not received a recall notice re: nhtsa campaign number 14v441000. My 2013 vw tiguan died while traversing a slight incline in an intersection. Fortunately no other cars were present. Vehicle was later towed to vw dealership. Work order failed to mention that auto died, instead service advisor wrote the following: "ck engine light on. Tech(s): 8563 warranty. Customer states check engine light is on. Scanned for trouble codes. Ran gffault p0192 fuel rail pressure intermittent. Performed test plan, checked fuel pressures, all within specs. Cleared codes, retested in am operating to specs, possible fuel level was too low in fuel tank, but vehicle is currently operating to specs." the instrument panel read range: 85 miles, which, in my opinion, discredits the conjecture that the fuel level in fuel tank was too low. Is there a way to facilitate receiving a recall notice? If so please advise.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10632723
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1408075200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1410494400000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv3ax1dw
Component Fuel/propulsion system | service brakes
Tl* the contact owns a 2013 volkswagen tiguan. The contact stated that nhtsa campaign number: 14v441000 (fuel system, gasoline) had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that they were unable to perform the repair because there were no available appointments. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. While driving various speeds, the vehicle jerked intermittently. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 1,798. Updated 10/22/14*cn updated 4/8/2015 *js
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10638446
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1411358400000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1411444800000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv3ax1dw
Component Air bags | service brakes
Tl* the contact owns a 2013 volkswagen tiguan. The contact heard a chime sound coming from the vehicle and the abs warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 5,500. Updated 10/29/14*lj the consumer stated the vehicle was traded in. The consumer felt the repairs were taking too long to be completed. Updated 04/23/2015 *js
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10668928
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1412481600000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1419829200000-0500)/
VIN Wvgav7ax3dw
Component Fuel system, gasoline | latches/locks/linkages
The locking mechanism for the gas door stopped working properly and the door remains unlocked with the door popped open the majority of the time. If the door isn't popped open then it's locked shut and can't be opened normally and must be pried open. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10683495
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1414814400000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1423890000000-0500)/
Component Tires
My wife was driving. Shortly after getting on the interstate, her rear driver side tire blew out (the whole rim was detached). She did not hit anything and she was not speeding. Investigating the parking lot that she pulled out of, there were black marks. We live right off the interstate. The dealer identified a second tire with a flaw in the wall of the tire. 2 tires had to be replaced. This was a brand new vehicle with ~20,000 miles on it (mostly interstate driving). We found similar issues with this brand of tire though google searches and believe the tire should be recalled before someone dies. The company was unwilling to work with us on the issue. I would like to share the photo of the blow out with you. We brought the vehicle to the dealer that evening. We asked the next morning if they would save the tire, but discarded them already. The manufacturer of the tire refuses to work with us because they felt since we did not have the physical tire or "evidence" it was not their problem. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10713938
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1422680400000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1430366400000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav3ax9dw
Component Structure
Exterior paint bad discoloration. Called manufacturer they told me nothing they can do for me. My vehicle is <2 years old and only 21, 000 miles covered under 36,000 mile warranty. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10748087
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1436932800000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1439352000000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav3ax6dw
Component Unknown or other
When the car stops completely while being run for a while, everything shut downs completely. Need to place the car in "parking" and restart the car. The car restarts immediately. However, the shutdown can happen more than once during the same trip every time is stops completely.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10788786
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1446440400000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1446786000000-0500)/
Component Air bags | steering
Tl* the contact owns a 2013 volkswagen tiguan. While driving approximately 70 mph, there was a clicking sound that came from the steering wheel. All of the controls on the steering wheel failed to work, including the horn, and the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The contact pulled over and powered the vehicle off and back on; however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the contact was informed that the vin was included in nhtsa campaign number: 15v483000 (air bags), however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000. The vin was unavailable.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10816886
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1450846800000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1451365200000-0500)/
VIN Wvgav3ax9dw
Component Unknown or other
My car was in my driveway for a week and it was not driver for a week when the air start come out of my tire and it bubble up and left a cut on the tire a defective in the tire. The name of tire is continental / contiprocontact ... Size is 235/50 r 18.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10818841
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash Yes
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1436155200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1452252969000-0500)/
VIN Wvgav7ax2dw
Component Fuel/propulsion system | power train | steering
When driving vehicle it will get up to 40 speed and not above and stall out to 0 mph. The vehicle will not move and stall for duration of time, then it will driving at a low speed under 10-20mph. At the time of purchase, i made it known to the brandon volkswagen dealership, fidelity bank and volkswagen america. I had two warranties and the problem were told me in 2012 and 2013, by brandon volkswagen the problem were resolved. In july 2015 through august 2015 the brandon volkswagen informed that a part does not existed to correct my problems for several recalls. The vehicle was non-operable on a major highway 301hwy.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10837571
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1456030800000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1456117200000-0500)/
VIN Wvgbv3ax8dw
Component Air bags
Tl* the contact owns a 2013 volkswagen tiguan. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 20 mph, the air bag warning indicator illuminated as the horn and the functions on the steering wheel failed to operate. In addition, the contact stated that the instrument panel also failed to function. The vin was not included in nhtsa campaign number: 15v483000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 48,560.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10850321
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1458187200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1458262010000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv7ax7dw
Component Structure:body
The rear driver side door handle fell off completely (both pieces) when i was trying to get in the back seat (simply opening the door by pulling on the handle). Apparently this has been an issue for years (people complaining about it since 2011 across multiple vw models). One person's forum post said there was a free retrofit kit (turns out they are from the uk) because it is a known problem. However, volkswagen of america says they have never heard of this problem. i've uploaded a few of the dozen's of forum entries of people saying this happened to them, and a photo of my door handle. It appears that dealerships only fix it if it's under warranty here in the us.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10851242
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1458360000000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1458757815000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav3ax0dw
Component Air bags
While making a normal-radius left-hand turn into a parking spot, the steering wheel made a soft popping sound. Immediately, the airbag indicator illuminated, along with a message indicating that the driver airbag was not functional. Further inspection found that the driver airbag, driver steering wheel controls, and horn were non-functional. the vw dealership indicated that steering wheel clock spring had torn, and was therefore replaced. a recall (15v483000) was issued in aug 2015 for vw tiguan 2013s, but this vin was not included in the recall. When contacting vw's customer service team, they indicated that this vin was intentionally not included in the recall, however evidence indicates otherwise. this vin, and likely others with the same trim, should be included in a new recall for the same, as the problem extends beyond the vins in the original recall, 15v483000.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10865373
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1462680000000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1463500195000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav3ax3dw
Component Electronic stability control | engine
I was one the high way 1, and i drove about 10 minutes. All of a sudden, my car shut off while driving. The battery light came on and car died. The wheel was even locked. Basically, i was stocked on the highway! Then, i restarted my car on the high way 1, and it worked again. The dealer can not find any issue, and the same issues happened to me twice with two months. Now, i have to report this in order to protect myself.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11001783
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1497931200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1498536000000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav3ax9dw
Component Air bags | steering
Tl* the contact owns a 2013 volkswagen tiguan. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired per an unknown recall. Afterwards, while driving, the contact heard a loud clicking noise in the steering wheel. In addition, the horn failed to sound and the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to leith bmw (5609 capital blvd, raleigh nc 27616 (844) 261-4301) where it was diagnosed that the clock spring was fractured and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the recall was previously repaired and that the contact was over the warranty mileage. No assistance was offered. The failure mileage was 46,000.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11000203
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1438228800000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1497931200000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav7ax6dw
Component Air bags | steering
Tl* takata recall. The contact owns a 2013 volkswagen tiguan. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle shook and vibrated. As the contact attempted to make a turn, the steering lost power and the steering wheel and air bag warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer (palmetto 57 volkswagen in opa locka, florida) where a diagnostic test was performed. The dealer stated that the vehicle was out of warranty and referred the contact to nhtsa. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 15v483000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was approximately 62,000. Parts distribution disconnect.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11006307
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1498449600000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1500436800000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv3ax5dw
Component Air bags
Tl* the contact owns a 2013 volkswagen tiguan. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated and there was no steering functionality. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the clock spring was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was taken to the ostien dealer where it was confirmed that the clock spring was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure, but no assistance was offered. The contact referenced nhtsa campaign number: 15v483000 (air bags). The failure mileage was approximately 97,000.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11013760
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1501992000000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1502164800000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav7ax2dw
Component Fuel/propulsion system
Hard starting 1st thing am.... Seems to run ok afterward. Vw serivce tech says rear fuel pump and sensor bad..causing engine speed sensor to malfunction. Car stalled on fway twice too...
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11014595
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1502251200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1502463583000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav7ax0dw
Component Air bags
Our volkswagen tiguan 2013 was recalled last year for a faulty airbag clock spring which, if it went out, caused a loss of the drivers front airbag and also use of the horn. Our airbag and horn fully went out at that time, and we took the car in and had the clock spring replaced under the recall. Now, just more than a year later, the exact same thing has happened -- the airbag light has come on indicating that the airbags are out, the horn does not work nor do any of the electric controls on the steering wheel. We called our local vw dealer in stamford ct about this-- they have said they will charge us for a diagnostic and the repair since the car is currently not recalled, even though this is the exact same problem that was addressed under the recall last year. In addition, the first available appointment they are offering us is 30 aug -- two and a half weeks from today. They have said we could also bring the car in now, but that it will take them a week or more to get to it.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11033330
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1507608000000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1507992049000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav3axxdw
Component Air bags
Vw recalled this vehicle for a defect in the clockspring which controls the driver side airbag. This repair was made in july 2016. Just 15 months later and less than 3000 miles later the clockspring failed again in the exact same fashion. The same classic clockspring failure mode as reported by vw. I had it replaced again this morning.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11044226
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1485925200000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1510085615000-0500)/
VIN Wvgbv3ax9dw
Component Air bags | steering | unknown or other
Air bag light on dashboard is lit up. At first steering wheel felt harder to turn left and right and then it sounded like a spring was moving back and forth on plastic. i was pulling out of the driveway when this occurred turning left.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11043653
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1507867200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1509979906000-0500)/
VIN Wvgcv3ax6dw
Component Air bags | electrical system | vehicle speed control
No electrical connection to steering wheel, air bag light is on... All similar problems to takata recall but my vin was not included in the recall and the dealership is trying to charge me $800 to fix it. When vehicle was stationary and switched on, there was a tearing sound from the steering wheel - then nothing worked in the steering wheel, not the horn or the cruise control or anything. And the air bag light is on.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11089228
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1523505600000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1524337849000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv3ax6dw
Component Air bags
An airbag error warning illuminated on my dashboard and the steering wheel began to make a clicking noise. After researching potential causes and receiving a recommendation from a car service dealer, i found a recall issued under nhtsa campaign number 15v483000. My vin does not list my vehicle under the recall; however, the air bag clock spring is broken. I'd like to request an investigation into my vehicle's faulty air bag clock spring and request a recall in accordance with the campaign number listed above.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11084929
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1513573200000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1523592000000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav3ax4dw
Component Air bags:frontal:driver clockspring/spiral cassette
Tl* the contact owns a 2013 volkswagen tiguan. The contact stated that the horn failed to operate when depressed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer (chico volkswagen, 902 main street, chico, california) where it was diagnosed that the clockspring was damaged and needed replacement. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11090339
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1506657600000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1524777769000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav7ax0dw
Component Air bags | unknown or other
Not sure if this involves the takata recall or not. while was executing a righthand turn on a city street, i heard a snap/click from inside the steering wheel. Immediately, the airbag light turned on and i discovered the next day that the horn and steering wheel controls had stopped functioning. after doing some research, i discovered that 2013 tiguans were included in the steering wheel clock spring recall in 2015, so i checked to see if my car's vin was included. It wasn't, so i reached out to vw customer care and told them that my car was exhibiting the same issues that were outlined in the recall notice. They initially told me that my vehicle wasn't included because it didn't receive the faulty factory parts, then later changed their story to say that my vehicle already had been repaired in response to the recall. When i explained that the repair hadn't prevented the safety hazards, they told me that the recall repair is out of warranty so i would need to pay for the repair myself.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11091238
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1524715200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1525209469000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav3ax1dw
Component Unknown or other
Vehicle flooded with standing water after a heavy rain. On monday april 30, 2018 the volkswagen dealership reported that the 2 drain lines from the sunroof had "disconnected themselves" and allowed rain water into the vehicle cabin. in 2007 a class action lawsuit was filed against volkswagen of america for this very issue citing poor design to be at fault. In 2012 the appellate court approved a $69 million dollar settlement by volkswagen, but apparently did not make any drain design changes that would prevent the occurrences from taking place in the future. Please see https://www.law360.com/articles/402373, https://www.carcomplaints.com/news/2014/volkswagen-settles-lawsuit-leaking-sunroofs.shtml, and http://www2.ca3.uscourts.gov/opinarch/103618p.pdf. when i asked volkswagen of mandeville, la if there was any outside condition that would cause a drain failure, they said it was a bad design and that they were "very familiar" with the problem. volkswagen have made no voluntary recalls or issued service bulletins to address the problem. My 2013 tiguan has approximately 10,500 miles so wear & tear is not a contributing factor here. My repair bill is nearly $3,000.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11092494
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1525579200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1525804520000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav3ax4dw
Component Electrical system
After driving about 2 hours on a freeway the airbag light came on while turning onto a city street after exiting the freeway. All steering wheel controls and horn had stopped working when the airbag light came on as well. This seems to be the exact failure described in the clock spring recall issued in 2015 for this vehicle though it seems as though the recall may have already been repaired on my car.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11092502
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1525752000000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1525807601000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv7ax3dw
Component Air bags | electrical system
My steering wheel clicks while turning, air bag light is on, horn and steering controls don't work. I contacted the dealership who told me this was a common issue and the recall to fix it had been done in 2015 by the previous owner. I was told i would have to pay to fix it this time. So vw gets to claim to fix the problem by supposedly putting a new clock spring in, that fails in the same time frame as the previous defective clock spring. This is ridiculous. Will never buy a vw again.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11093737
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1526270400000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1526323945000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv7ax3dw
Component Air bags | steering
The clock spring (diagnosed by pugi volkswagen in downers grove, il has malfunctioned in this vehicle. So all the airbags and all steering wheel controls do not work in this vehicle, so if i'm about to get into an accident, i cannot use my horn, nor will my airbag deploy. There is an active recall for this part in other vehicles in the same make, model, and year of this vehicle, but for some reason my vin is not falling into that range? This is ridiculous, the recall on this part is recall # 69l2, nhtsa # 15v483. There was an nhtsa investigation in november 2017 stating that this may not have covered a wide enough range of vehicles covered under the recall (https://static.nhtsa.gov/odi/inv/2017/inoa-rq17009-5206.pdf) & (https://www.forbes.com/sites/jensen/2017/11/17/feds-investigate-volkswagens-reluctant-recall/#6d0848d53b77). Someone please help me!
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11097337
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1522123200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1527046488000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv3ax0dw
Component Air bags
One day i was driving and heard this clicking noise in my steering wheel whenever i turned. It progressively got worse throughout the day and about 4 hours later from when i initially heard it, my airbag light came on. I called my dealership and they told me it was my clock spring and that there was a recall for this a few years ago however my vin was not one that was noted under that recall. I have no power to my steering wheel touch controls and my horn does not work which has been very scary as i have no way to alert those around me when they swerve into my lane-which has happened multiple times.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11120351
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1514869200000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1534425449000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv7ax3dw
Component Air bags | electrical system
The steering wheel controls and air bags do not work. This is a commonly known issue with vw for the year and model of this vehicle, although vw states this vin is outside of the “recalled group”, it clearly has the exact same issue with the same recalled parts. The airbag clock spring is the issue that has worn out and the electrical components and air bags in the steering wheel are now rendered useless. The dealership themselves have told me they have seen this issue on numerous vw vehicles and have not expanded their radius of vins included in the faulty parts.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11129879
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1536292800000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1537156800000-0400)/
VIN Wvgcv7ax0dw
Component Engine
The car stalled, it was difficult to started again and then ran poorly. The engine light came on and i had it towed to the garage. The timing chain slipped, causing a misfire in all four cylinders. Mechanic found it was due to a faulty timing chain tensioner. Vw replaced this tensioner in new cars as of july of 2012, my car was built in june of 2012. As the result of a lawsuit, vw extended the warranty on models through 2012, but did not include 2013 even though it is the same faulty part number. Car is still in the garage 10 days later, but i was told it would be $1,500-$2,000 repair.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11131597
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1537156800000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1537848000000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv7axxdw
Component Air bags | electrical system | steering
All button of steering wheel is dead, airbag indicator is on all the time, horn is dead, center front upper left switch of dim light is out of order. It did not start at once. Above phenomena occurred one by one. It seems there is a problem with clock spring which vw had recall in 2015.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11132418
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1538366400000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1538366400000-0400)/
Component Exterior lighting
When you switch on the ignition to go. driver side low beam light keeps coming on and off on my 2013 vw tiguan
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11132284
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1538193600000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1538257025000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv7ax7dw
Component Air bags | electrical system | unknown or other
An airbag error message went on while my wife was driving in june 2018. She noticed that the after the airbag error cane on that the controls on the steering wheel and the horn stopped working as well. We took the vehicle to dirito brothers vw for servicing and they said the clock spring failed and needed to replaced. They replaced the part which resolved the issues until today when the airbag error light came on again and the steering controls and horn stopped working again. That is a second failure in 3 months. My wife drives my kids in this vehicle and it’s unsettling to think that there is an obviously defective part that renders her airbag and horn useless putting them in harms way. I have an appointment with dirito brothers to replace the part again but have lost confidence. I noticed many articles and blog posts about this issue as well as an nhtsa investigation into it. Please re-investigate this issue. I can’t imagine that i’m the only person complaining. Thank you.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11132168
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1531195200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1538107200000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv3ax1dw
Component Electrical system | engine
The car loses power when accelerating and epc lights and oil pressure lights illuminate and disappear seems very dangerous and i am not the only person who this is happening to
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11052678
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1512104400000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1512534440000-0500)/
VIN Wvgbv3ax0dw
Component Air bags
Airbag clock switch failed on my 2013 volkswagen tiguan. The vehicle was in motion, turning a 45 degree corner, and a 'grinding' and 'popping' sound occurred.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11057341
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1512018000000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1514569738000-0500)/
VIN Wvgbv3ax7dw
Component Air bags | steering
My airbag light come up and my horn is not working.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11058154
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1513314000000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1514869200000-0500)/
VIN Wvgav3ax6dw
Component Air bags | steering
Vehicle's clock spring was found to be dysfunctional and had to be replaced. My steering wheel started making a clicking noise and then an airbag error came up. I was afraid it would not deploy in the event of a wreck, or deploy for no reason driving down the street. Doing some research it appears there is a recall for this exact issue that includes my year and model - but volkswagen is saying it's not included based on my vin. I believe that it should be included since the clock spring is malfunctioning in a 3.5 year old car.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11064531
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1516251600000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1516769322000-0500)/
VIN Wvgav3ax9dw
Component Air bags | electrical system | unknown or other
In 2015 there was a recall for clock springs in the 2013 volkswagen tiguan which i own and other of their vehicles. My previous owner got it replaced then and i bought the car in 2016. I heard a clicking noise and then my airbag light came on and the controls on the steering wheels stopped working and my horn stopped working also. Being that my car has $46000 miles and i have extended 100,000 mile warranty... I went to vw to complain as clearly this recall didn’t do anything because it hasn’t been even that long for it to be breaking again. They denied to cover it because it had been fixed previously when the recall happened. This clearly is an issue that wasn’t resolved with the recall as i googled what this was when i first heard the noise and there are sooooo many people complaining of the same issue after it was fixed the first time around. This is a $500 job that i’m going to have to pay now and it’s frustrating because i truly feel this is a defect in the car and should be covered.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11173529
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1546664400000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1548997200000-0500)/
VIN Wvgav7ax4dw
Component Engine
I was driving on a highway when my engine failed. My year, make and model number is listed in the vw timing chain settlement, but my vin # is not in their database, so they will not help me. The extended warranty that i purchased with the car, which was used, on 5/12/17, expires at 121,000 miles. I am over the mileage by approx. 7,800 miles, so they will not honor it. *js
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11078929
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire Yes
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1503547200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1520964684000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav7ax2dw
Component Fuel/propulsion system
Fuel system problems... Replaced rear fuel pump 8/15/2017. Car blew out fuel line within two weeks.. Spilled gas all under car.. Caught fire and burned to the gound. Vw technical pros did work... @ audi pensacola (sonic auto group) . Car had previously had recall on fuel system fixed in 2016. Still failed. Got into car in am and it would run for 2 seconds and quit. Called service tech for guidance.. Said get tow truck to bring it in to audi pensacola for exam. Car caught fire in driveway thankfully out from under carport. Fire dept arrived just in time to save my house from being totally involved. See attachments of repair bill and pix of fire. More available
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11079124
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1520913600000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1521046163000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav3ax6dw
Component Air bags | electrical system | steering
Clock spring issue. My 2013 volkswagen tiguan clock spring has failed and my airbag/steering components no longer function. Volkswagen is claiming my car is not affected although my model make and year falls within those failing. My clock spring part number also matches those that are failing. I was driving when the airbag no longer worked. There was no threat or danger. However i am unable to drive the vehicle without a functioning airbag.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11081491
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1512104400000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1522123200000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv3ax4dw
Component Electrical system | steering
Tl* the contact owns a 2013 volkswagen tiguan. The contact stated that there was a failure with the steering wheel making an abnormal noise, then the horn failed, the steering wheel function buttons failed and the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for diagnosis or repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was excluded from any recalls. The manufacturer offered no further assistance. The approximate failure mileage was not available.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11082106
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1522296000000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1522376836000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv7ax8dw
Component Air bags | electrical system | vehicle speed control
The electronics in the steering wheel started going out, finally nothing on the steering wheel to do with electronics will work, no airbag no horn no cruise control no stereo buttons no other controls this problem is related to the clock spring, and so i took it to a dealer . the dealer said it had already had the recall done , they put a cover over the electronic clock spring, they said back when that this would fix the problem , well it doesn't fix the problem , it may delay it , until the car is out of warranty . my daughter drives this car, without an airbag now because vw and pignataro vw refuse to properly deal wit the problem. the cover does not work , the clock spring will break , and the airbag light will come on . leaving the occupant open to injury or death in head on collition. this is a sham that the company will not fix the problem . they said it had been fixed so they are no longer liable . it is not fixed !!!! people are going to , or are dying because of this !!!
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11101174
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1528257600000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1528689600000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav3ax7dw
Component Air bags | air bags:frontal:driver clockspring/spiral cassette
Tl* the contact owns a 2013 volkswagen tiguan. The contact stated that the battery was replaced at the dealer (ancira volkswagen san antonio, 6125 bandera rd, san antonio, tx 78238). Afterwards, the air bag warning indicator illuminated and the horn failed to sound when depressed. The contact stated that the vehicle exhibited the same symptoms as listed in nhtsa campaign number: 15v483000 (air bags). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was approximately 79,000. **tr updated 10/19/18*jb
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11105048
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1528344000000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1530537059000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav7ax7dw
Component Engine
On june 7th, 2018...i took car to dealer for coolant leak repair. Repair was finished however the dealer suggests to have a major engine oil leak repair to prevent oil leaks, because of known cases with other similar vw tiguan model cars. The repair would cost $1700.00. They said that the engine sealant used originally in manufacturing the car was not the correct sealant, and the sealant would eventually fail and cause major damage to many parts of the engine. Later on a mailer was sent to my house stating the suggested repair and that safety would be an issue if this repair was not performed. I am not only worried about the safety of myself driving my car, i'm also worried that i don't have funds for this unexpected repair...$1700.00.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11105402
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1530590400000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1530652090000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv7ax9dw
Component Air bags
The clock spring failed within two years of the recall, and based on my internet research, almost 100 other people have had the same issue. The dealer told me the original "fix" was just to put a cover over the clock spring unless the clock spring failed beforehand. In my case it failed after the cover was added, and for some reason i didn't get the benefit of an actual replacement part as part of the recall. It seems to me that others are having the same problem and the "fix" for all of the cars in question should have been clock spring replacements vs. A cover.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11105329
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1530590400000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1530590400000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv7ax9dw
Component Air bags
My car was recalled in 2016 to replace the clock spring and it just failed 2 years later and i am being asked to pay $800 for what appears to be a bad fix
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11112565
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1525147200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1532099466000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav7axdw0
Component Air bags
Airbag light came on. It was the exact issue described in vw recall notice recall number 15v483000 recall date 08/04/2015 component air bags:frontal the recall notice said ifthe airbag light is on and the steering wheel clock spring requires replacement, dealers will install a new steering wheel clock spring. In march of 2016 vw said they performed the recall work by cleaning the clock spring, not replacing it. The issue for me is vw should have replaced the clock spring as described in the recall notice.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11115314
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1526443200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1533224551000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav3ax4dw
Component Air bags | electrical system | steering
Clockspring in the steering column has failed causing air bag light to come on and on one instance the blinkers did not work. A minor cracking first was heard in vehicle during turning. Eventually a turn was made and the airbag light came on and no controls on the steering wheel worked.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11139309
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1505275200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1539057600000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav3ax7dw
Component Air bags | steering
Tl* the contact owns a 2013 volkswagen tiguan. While driving, the contact heard a crunching sound coming from the steering wheel. In addition, the air bag warning indicator illuminated and all the control buttons on the steering wheel failed to function. The contact called mossy volkswagen at (760) 745-7551 (located at 1695 auto park way s, escondido, ca 92029) and was informed that the vehicle was previously repaired per nhtsa campaign number: 15v483000 (air bags) regarding the clockspring. The vehicle was later taken to city volkswagen (located at 2205 morena blvd, san diego, ca 92110, (833) 207-1264), but was not diagnosed or repaired due to the cost. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 73,000.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11195449
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1554523200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1554925800000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv7ax3dw
Component Unknown or other
Lost coolant and needed a new water pump
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11174595
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1549342800000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1549409165000-0500)/
VIN Wvgav3ax7dw
Component Engine
After dealer repaair airbag twice oil pressure come on and off
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11190113
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1543726800000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1553042541000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav3ax2dw
Component Air bags | electrical system
Had the clock spring break on our 2013 vw tiguan - made a grindingish noise when making a standard turn and the airbag light came up on the dashboard. Steering wheel electronics (horn and controls) stopped working.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11231810
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1562904000000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1563153388000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv7ax7dw
Component Air bags | electrical system | unknown or other
The airbag, horn, steering wheel and steering wheel controls on my 2013 vw tiguan stopped working twice in the last 1 1/2 years and just stopped working again. The clock spring was replaced which solved the issue but this is the 3rd time this issue has happened in 1 1/2 years. This is a serious safety issue since and i don’t feel safe letting my wife drive this vehicle anymore. Something needs to be done about this issue. Stories like mine are all over the internet and the vehicle should be recalled.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11218882
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1551762000000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1560177976000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv3ax2dw
Component Unknown or other
My car leaks from the inside when it is raining. After a day (or any period of time) of rain, water comes in from underneath my back seats and floods the interior floor. It also leaks from the rooftop. This happens when the vehicles is stationary or in motion.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11222772
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1560830400000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1561585341000-0400)/
VIN Wvga3ax2dw5
Component Electrical system | service brakes
Problem with accidental deployment of electronic parking brake: this is a major design problem with an inexpensive fix. The way the tiguan has been designed, it parking level is flush to the cup holder. Last week, i spilt my coffee on my charging cluster (in first cup holder) and accidentally deployed the park brake at 70mph and it locked up the wheels...on the freeway 🛣!!! This defect covers model years 2009-2017 1st gen tiguans. the fix is cheap & easy. Although i have tapes a business card over it, i plan to craft a rocker piece to easily secure the parking brake needs to be deployed while the vehicle is stopped.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11266717
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1570334400000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1570420800000-0400)/
Component Air bags | electrical system
Tl* the contact owns a 2013 volkswagen tiguan. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated and the steering wheel features became inoperable. The local dealer was not contacted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and did not assist. The contact stated that the failure was similar to nhtsa campaign number: 15v483000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 56,000. The vin was not available.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11282248
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1574139600000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1574705618000-0500)/
VIN Wvgav7ax9dw
Component Steering
While driving the vehicle down a major local roadway (approx 40 miles per hour), the steering rack failed disabling the vehicles ability to steer. This failure happened with no warning, and the vehicle was unable to be steered again until it was shut off. Due to the electronic steering system (versus a standard steering pump) the vehicle steering system locked entirely. The vehicle was taken to the local volkswagen dealer, who confirmed a total failure of the steering rack.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11286492
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1574744400000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1575334645000-0500)/
VIN Wvgav3ax2dw
Component Electrical system
A-l-l post 2010 german cars have a battery management system (bms) which is a really cool feature---when it is working and serviced properly. Vw, who invented the system, has software/sensors that will take a dying car battery & attenuate it with higher charging values to compensate for the diminished capacity of said dying battery. my oem 5 year old battery died on me two months ago and i replaced it with a new duracell agm (vw tiguan fitted) battery from battery & bulbs. I'm happy. Then i bought a bluedriver odb2 module and was invited to join their beta testing, which allowed customers to enter their own bem tag code information & register the batteries to their cars without being hit with a dealer $100.00 convenience fee. now get this: i called not one but two vw dealerships a-n-d vw corporate and nobody heard of the procedure, which is hysterical since vw invented it!!! i then called bmw elk grove (see: mr. Trevor kagesiro (916) 687-9046 nello bmw elk grove, ca). Service advisor mr. Kagehiro said "if you don't register yer new battery to your car's battery mgt system, it will use the old battery's values & o-v-e-r-c-h-a-r-g-e both your new battery & your alternator!!! This constitutes a saftey issue because if your battery & alternator is destroyed because of vw's non compliance with its own service bulletins---you could potentially get people killed because their car would have stranded them due to a now destroyed new battery & alternator!!! bmw charges $90.00 to input the new battery values (does not have to be oem) into bmw's battery mgt system via their proprietary obd2 scanner but won't do my car because it's only a lowly vw!!! requested remedy: compel volkswagen to identify the bem tag code (located on their oem batteries) and the work around to allow non oem batteries to register the battery by vw consumers. This effects every vw owner!!!
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11307344
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1564027200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1580941736000-0500)/
VIN Wvgbv3ax6dw
Component Suspension
Both front and rear coil springs broke from secure position creating a safety hazard as spring could come in contact with moving tires. Rear spring separated in july 2019, followed by front spring in february 2020. Vehicle was in motion both times, being at highway speeds when front spring broke.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11315766
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1583038800000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1583246312000-0500)/
VIN Wvgav7ax9dw
Component Steering
Upon starting the vehicle, electronic power steering is unresponsive/inoperable with corresponding chime and a red steering wheel warning is illuminated on dashboard. Seconds to minutes later the power steering will become responsive and red steering wheel indication is cleared or at times a yellow steering wheel will remain. After regaining power steering there is a sudden “jerk” and it is extremely loose at all speeds. This is remedied with either recycling power multiple times or periodically when an unspecified amount of time passes . This discrepancy happens when vehicle is parked and has been continued over the past two years. It is suspected to steering assist control module or rack and pinion.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11318333
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1584331200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1584404886000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv3ax7dw
Component Electrical system | engine
While driving the vehicle the epc light and check engine light came on, the vehicle then began to lose power and slow down as i was driving. The vehicle struggles to get power and even changing the spark plugs and coils has not worked as the vehicle continues to do the same thing.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11319607
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1581397200000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1585438387000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv7ax0dw
Component Unknown or other
Our town had a lot of storming/raining recently and the car began to collect mold on the inside even as the doors and windows were closed. The seal on the windshield seems to have came loose and possibly the back windshield as well.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11321284
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1586836800000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1587009600000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav7ax8dw
Component Unknown or other
The floor on passenger side occasionally fills with water and i’m not sure where it is coming from. After not driving my car for a month (due to the quarantine) i was shocked to find about a gallon of water pooled in the vehicle and signs of mold. I’m concerned for my health as well as the health of my newborn baby. Of course i didn’t bring the baby with me when i went to the mechanic, but i was in the car for all of ten minutes (that’s how long it takes to get there) and was inflicted with a headache due to the mold. The mechanic told me that the car needs to be recalled because its new and hasn’t been in any accidents and after researching myself, there has been a lot of complaints about the same issue. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11330964
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1587009600000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1593144000000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav7ax6dw
Component Air bags | electrical system | steering
I was driving my volkswagen 2013 tiguan down i-95 with my toddler daughter n the car when all of a sudden the steering wheel jerked very hard almost crashing us into another car. When i pulled over to safety the steering wheel light was on the dash lighting up along with a light that says epc. I did not feel safe driving the vehicle so i called a tow to come pick us up. About a few weeks later i was told my volkswagen that they did not see the problem after coming there multiple times and having to pay the diagnostic fee each time that there was no issue because the light will go on and off. I told it to another shop where i paid 1,200 to replace the whole steering wheel. After that was fixed another problem just pops up out of the blue which is the airbag light. My horn no longer is working nor is my cruise control which is dangerous. So i can no longer drive this car with my children inside because i do not feel safe. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11338898
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1594094400000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1594581396000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav7ax4dw
Component Steering
I parked to go shopping and when i got back and turned on the car, the steering warming light came on and the power-steering was disengaged. I was not able to drive it as the wheel was too heavy. The steering corrected after waiting for an hour to start the car. My wife had the same issue the next day after dropping off our daughter at school and had to wait 30 minutes before the problem corrected. We took the car the honolulu vw the next morning on 7/7/2020, and they said they could not find an error on the car diagnostic and therefore could not fix the problem, they said to bring it back when it happens again. They recommended we have the steering rack replaced for roughly 3k. We called vw customer care on july 9,2020 and asked for help and let them know that we were considering legal advise as we have found roughly 30 other car owners reporting the same problem, with this make, mode and year with roughly the same mileage, and this seemed to be a factory flaw (a very dangerous one), they said we should have legal representation reach out to them.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11342971
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured 1
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1595995200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1596475326000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav3axxdw
Component Air bags
On july 13,2020 i was driving on a main city street the air bags on the passenger side deployed. I did not hit anything nor was i hit.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11341325
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1594353600000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1595563200000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv3ax2dw
Component Engine
Tl* the contact owns a 2013 volkswagen tiguan. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the vehicle started to shake and failed to accelerate properly with the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to boucher volkswagen of franklin located at 6420 s. 108th st, franklin, wi 53132, to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the turbo charger and rear oil seals needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 153,000.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11351437
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1597636800000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1598480035000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv3ax0dw
Component Electronic stability control | engine | power train
3 years ago the vehicle has problems with sensors, this year the engine light is on, the auto repair shop worker checked the car and described that turbocharger is leaking air, they offer me to it replace for $3000. The car was in motion in city street when the light pump up. Except of the light the car is driving as usually.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10907112
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1470888000000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1473998400000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv7ax9dw
Component Electrical system | engine
Tl* the contact owns a 2013 volkswagen tiguan. While driving, the vehicle lost power unexpectedly and the battery warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be diagnosed, but the cause of the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 71,500.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10910970
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1440561600000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1475294400000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv3ax8dw
Component Engine | fuel/propulsion system
When you are attempting to stop the car, the car stops completely. Everything shuts down. Need to place the car in park and restart car. The car restarts. However, the shutdown can happen more than once during the same trip each time the car stops. The check engine light comes on and then will go off. This started happening in aug 2015 @ 27000 miles. I have taken the car to the dealer 3 times. They run diagnostics and clear fault if the light is on at the time. The dealer replaced the boost pressure sensor in june 2016 but the problem has started again. Since the light goes on and off, it is hard to know if there is a serious problem. So far it has stalled on side roads or parking lots. If this should happen on the highway, it would cause a serious accident. In 2014, the car was part of a fuel pump recall.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10916217
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1473048000000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1476536314000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav3ax9dw
Component Engine
Mileage: 38,000 miles. date: 9/5/2016. upon engine startup first thing in the morning i noticed a momentary rattling noise which i recognized as timing chain noise. (i'm a certified auto mechanic.) the noise went away in about one second which is typical for a hydraulic timing chain tensioner. I researched the net and found quite a bit of information on failing hydraulic timing chain tensioners on vw tsi engines. The timing chain noise occurred a second time on 9/23/2016, also first thing in the morning substantiating a failing timing chain tensioner leaking down over night. On 10/2/2016 i spent $256.63 to buy the parts for replacing the timing chain tensioner myself.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11353713
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1598932800000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1599583252000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv7ax7dw
Component Air bags | electrical system | steering
Volkswagen-tiguan, 2013 - clock spring is out. By the look of the the complaints, this a common problem. Cost - $650 for replacement - but, replacing can cause a further problem according to local vk dealer, where the whole steer electrical system will have issues which will lead to another $1500. Dont have a choice than to fix. A cost vk should be paying for on recall. Oh wait mine was not in the recall..previously allowed. Others continue to have issues.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11360304
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1546318800000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1600660800000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav7ax8dw
Component Power train
Tl* the contact owns a 2013 volkswagen tiguan. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact stated that because of the momentum they were going they were able to pull over to the emergency lane. The vehicle was towed to volkswagen of inver grove (1325 50th st e, inver grove heights, mn 55077, (651) 552-9100) who stated that the mega tronic unit was replaced at 53,000. The contact stated that at 72,000 miles the failure recurred. The contact took the vehicle to another dealer, volkswagen of alamo heights (1402 ne loop 410 expressway, san antonio, tx 78209; (210) 828-1201) who stated that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 53,000.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11386906
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1609131600000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1610029115000-0500)/
VIN Wvgbv7ax8dw
Component Air bags
I turn the car on one afternoon and the frontal air gave me error on the screen and i do not know why, i am extremely nervous driving my car because i heard there was a recall about these air bags before, i am a health care worker and i need my car to get to work so i don’t have a choice but to drive it
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11389392
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1610600400000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1611334014000-0500)/
VIN Wvgbv3ax2dw
Component Engine
No power while driving on city street had to have the turbocharger put in car only has 65600 miles
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 11400387
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1615352400000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1615496507000-0500)/
VIN Wvgav3ax3dw
Component Wheels
One wheel show crack , no accident, wheel look like new, but with one crack close to bolting area. (just found recently). Most likely will crack down whole wheel during driving, very dangerous. I am going to replace it with a new wheel, but would like to hold vw responsible.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10936062
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1481864400000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1482037200000-0500)/
VIN Wvgav3ax3dw
Component Power train | power train:automatic transmission:control module (tcm, pcm)
Vehicle sporadically unresponsive in traffic while in any forward drive selection of automatic transmission. Particularly hazardous while changing lanes in freeway traffic. I push on the accelerator to change lanes and nothing happens...the car just coasts...meanwhile traffic is coming at me at 70mph. I have keep flooring the accelerator a bunch of times for the car to regain response, but the turbo kicks in at full speed and i have to brake to re-regulate my speed. This is a great car, but it would be a deathtrap for most people and i am not alone with this complaint. In searching vw blogs, the problem is well known but there is no fix. Vw drivers speculate a ecm or tcm software problem, while others suspect the torque converter or turbo problem. This is not just a high speed problem. It happens in normal residential traffic driving, as well. Interesting too is that it will do this when i am starting up from a stop and making a left turn. I get mid-way thru the turn and it becomes un-responsive and traffic behind me have to brake to keep from rear-ending me. It doesn't seem to do this on right turns from a standing stop. It makes me wonder about the transmission fluid level, which i cannot check, the transmission fluid pump, if there is one. Yet, in highway traffic, i will want to change lanes to either the right or left and the car will become unresponsive. Nevertheless, it always takes the same driver response of having to keep flooring the accelerator to get the car to respond. Not good 2013 vw tiguan 24,000 miles since new. *tr
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10937581
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1482210000000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1482814800000-0500)/
VIN Wvgbv3ax7dw
Component Air bags | electrical system
My 2013 vw tiguan suddenly had a snapping and crinkly sound when i turned the wheel. I noticed it when i was turning in my driveway very slowly. Hours later and "error:airbag" message appeared on the dash and all of the functions of the steering wheel stopped working, including the horn.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10888222
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1403582400000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1469419200000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav3ax8dw
Component Engine
Tl* the contact owns a 2013 volkswagen tiguan. While driving various speeds, the vehicle jerked forward, stalled, and the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was serviced per nhtsa campaign number: 14v441000 (fuel system, gasoline), but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the central wiring harness needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred two additional times. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, but the diagnosis was unknown. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 4,997.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10993360
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1496289600000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1496721600000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav3ax1dw
Component Air bags
Tl* the contact owns a 2013 volkswagen tiguan. After driving 20 mph, the driver side air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer (paramount automotive group located at 1234 s center st, hickory, nc 28602) where it was diagnosed that the clockspring failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 48,000.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10967344
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1489122000000-0500)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1490047056000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv3ax4dw
Component Air bags | steering
My steering wheel began to make a clicking noise when i turned the wheel in either direction. Shortly after that happened, i turned into a parking spot and i felt a slight tension at the wheel and then a pop and my airbag light came on. We took it in to the dealership and were notified that the air back clock spring had failed and that it would have to be replaced. When i searched the nhtsa site, i found that there is a recall for 2013 volkswagen tiguan's for this specific item but that my vin number is not one of the vehicles listed in the recall. So now i'm facing an $800.00 repair bill for an item that's already been identified for a recall, but my vin number does not match.
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10971492
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1491192000000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1491755792000-0400)/
VIN Wvgav3ax5dw
Component Unknown or other
On april 3, 2017 i noticed a smell in my car, and subsequently found that the passenger side flooring was very wet. I made an appointment at ray brandt volkswagen new orleans for the following day, although my car was outside of its warranty period. on april 5, 2017 i arrived at the ray brandt volkswagen dealership to have my car looked at. The leak was diagnosed as a clogged sunroof drain, with the cost of $150 to clear the drain. I asked the service technician whether there was any maintenance that could have been done to prevent the significant water damage to the interior of my vehicle. He informed me that the there was recommended maintenance that should be done at the 4 year - 40,000 mile check (which my vehicle does not yet qualify for). i believe this issue is a defect within the design of the vehicle and clear instructions regarding this unusual maintenance issue should have been provided. It is unclear what caused this issue with the drain, but it is clear that vw was fully aware of this problem and has failed to communicate to new owners the problem with its sunroof design and the steps needed to prevent problems, and subsequent damage to the interior of the car. two vw service technicians indicated the sunroof drain probably had been clogged by parking the car under trees. If this is indeed the case, it would seem that vw should clearly warn all new car buyers that parking under trees may cause significant damage to their vehicle ($150 for drain cleanout, and subsequent $600 to dry the interior of the car to prevent mold), and loss of use of their car. the sunroof drain design has been an issue previously brought to volkswagen's attention: class action lawsuit dewey vs. Volkswagen and current audi recall #17v0010000
ProductType Vehicle

ODINumber 10980831
Manufacturer Volkswagen group of america, inc.
Crash No
Fire No
NumberOfInjured
NumberOfDeaths
DateofIncident /date(1493179200000-0400)/
DateComplaintFiled /date(1493179200000-0400)/
VIN Wvgbv3axxdw
Component Air bags
Tl* the contact owns a 2013 volkswagen tiguan. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated without warning. The dealer diagnosed that the air bag clock spring failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The dealer did not have the parts available. Due to the safety concern, the contact left the vehicle at the dealer. The vin was not included in nhtsa campaign number: 15v483000 (air bags). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure on april 4, 2017. The manufacturer stated that the vehicle was not included in the recall and that they would submit a request for the vehicle; however, they could not guarantee a recall and that the vehicle would be serviced. The failure mileage was approximately 37,200.
ProductType Vehicle

  Vehicle History Report

  • Sales History
  • Service History
  • Vehicle Theft Check
  • Odometer Reading
  • Market Value

  Free VIN check

  • VIN decoder
  • Vehicle Specifications
  • Equipment Details
  • Fuel Efficiency
  • Ownership History

  Car Recalls and Defects

  • Recalls and Defects
  • Problems & Complaints
  • Safety Ratings
  • Warranty